Archive for May 16th, 2011

6 days does not a week make…

If anyone gets the quote that is above, fair play, one of the best of the simple film/plays.

So work is over, i didnt smoke! I managed it today, wasnt too hard after lunch to be honest got a wreck of brandy balls and clove rock and just sucked it in (literally). Then I came home and started drinking, as per usual. Monday night is the only night in a week you can guarantee ill be up late and possibly drinking, even more so after an 11 hour shift with everyone smoking around me…

A little shout out to the guys in my team though if you’re reading, they were good to me! Didnt tempt me and when i was tempted warded me off, keep it up so i can keep it up!

Anyway! Its been a week, ive gained readers, lost readers, but whoever of you is reading this now, and read the first one last monday, I want to hear from you. I want my readers/friends to take over the blog on a friday, to speak about whatever they want, themselves, their own worries or thoughts on what I’m going through etc etc so please let me know on the usual outlets!

Anyone want to stop smoking with me? Let me know!

Also I had a strange revelation today, while I ate my ceremonious sausage supper, that being a daddy means giving up a lot of things. I mean, itll be a matter of months I wont be allowed to wander the house naked, i have to stop smoking, drink a lot less, being in Prehen means Ive got used to being away from friends enough already, but its a bit mad. I mean, a lot of people don’t go through these things because they’e stubborn or dont care, but i feel like I’m from a better cattle of fish…

Did anyone else know this logo is an irish slur? Actually! Slaggin us right in front of our eyes…

Ye know the drill;

www.facebook.com/nate.mccartney

www.twitter.com/nateomc

Playlist;

Noah and the Whale – Life ges on

Robbie Williams – Life thru (sic) a lens

Duran Duran – Hungry like the wolf

Day 6 – Torture

Today is the serious test of my will, as I sit here in my cubicle
surrounded by dozens of others in their respective cubicles, everyone
talking, percentages of them shouting. I’ve touched on it before, that
I can handle this quite well, listening to people complain and not
getting frustrated. This is not the same in my current state of mind.

My mind feels like its in a microwave, just ready to explode at any
point. My chest feels tight, hands shaking, feels like its hard to
breath when it simply isnt. I can breathe fine, I’m just freaking out.

Jesus even my legs feel weird.

Its currently lunchtime, ill be updating this at hometime, but I’ve
managed to survive today so far without smoking. I can’t say this will
last. I hope it does on one hand, but i don’t know what will happen me
on the other hand.

Any words of advice send them to me on the usual platforms;

http://www.facebook.com/nate.mccartney
http://www.twitter.com/nateomc

Playlist so far;

Hold music, which has recently been changed to all Take That. I think.

20110516-151043.jpg

Day 5 – Lazy Sundays…

 

Ok, so nothing happened today.

End of Blog

Playlist…

Nah I’m just messin, sort of. Nothing did happen today, her pain in her side is kind of coming and going so we assume its getting better, so that’s a big relief. When I woke up, I said “I’ll do dinner today” and she wouldn’t let me, then she complained later in the day that I never cook for her. (See previous blogs for mental status of pregahontous) But the main thing I want to blog about today…

I’m going to be a father. And its only kind of hitting home now…

I mean it, its weird enough seeing a baby kick through a stomach, feel it kick you through said stomach, and hear its heartbeat so amazing, its unbelievable really, but I’ll be honest I’ve been rather dismissive of all these crazy amazing things, pawning them off as if they happen all the time, when they don’t, they really don’t.

I’ve come to a realisation that I’ll miss all these crazy things sometime down the line, but mainly, I will have a baby who depends on me to do things. That’s a crazy feeling, I cant even begin to comprehend what it’ll feel like when it happens, what will happen when he’s born, anything. Its so hard to grasp this concept but I’m so excited I’ve stopped being worried so much, just can’t wait to see what madness will ensue!

3 things are going to be amazing;

1 – Having a baby version of me to hold and mould and so on and so forth

2 – Having a girlfriend who, although I cant get “freaky” with for a while, doesn’t have much to complain about, including work and being pregnant.

3 – Having the drive and determination to make my life better, simply because it will directly affect the life of something so small and amazing!

Any fathers reading this tell me how it felt for you, any mothers for that matter too! Anyone who is thinking about being a parent etc ask as many questions as you can now beforehand, I don’t remember not being in this position so I want to know what questions there are! I’m really hoping for questions cause it’ll make for good blogging!

Ask them at;

www.facebook.com/nate.mccartney

www.twitter.com/nateomc

Playlist;

Robbie Williams – Old before I Die

Savage Garden – To the Moon and Back

Kanye West – Love Lockdown